Thread: 1st year in a keeper league - draft strategy?

Dobber Sports Rookie

Default 1st year in a keeper league - draft strategy?

This is my first year doing a keeper league.

Can I get some advice on a draft strategy? Such as, which round to pick a prospect, like Stamkos or Okposo? Avoiding older guys like Modano and going after Bobby Ryans? Any and all advice would be appreciated.

Thanks Alot,

Adam
    C - Brassard, Briere, Umberger, Bergeron
    LW - Kovalchuk, Clowe, Parise, Voros, Huselius
    RW - Dumont, Setoguchi, Hemsky, Miettenin
    D - Blake, Zubov, Campbell
    G - Lundquvist, Luongo, Boucher, Smith

C, C, LW, LW, RW, RW, W, F, D, D, D, D, Util, G, G, BN, BN, BN, BN, BN, BN, IR, IR
    G, A, +/-, PIM, PPP, SHG, SHP, GWG, W, GAA, SV%, SHO

Dobber Sports Demi-God

Hi Adam - welcome to Dobberhockey forums

You ask a very big question. I think the answer needs to be funnelled a little based on the type of keeper league you are in, the size of the league, the experience of the other GM\'s, your scoring categories, the size of your roster(s), the profile of your starting roster and the whether you have daily or weekly starts.

Generally, drafts are dynamic and the more research you do the better prepared you are to handle the flow of it and make the calls you need to, at the right time.

Right at the outset, deciding how competitive you want to be in the first year, can have a huge impact on how you draft. do you want to go for it, build a decent now team with balance to perform well over a few years or start right from the get-go to develop a rock solid team of the future.

Lots to consider before you get down to a detailed strategy.

Dobber Sports Assistant Manager