Thread: ESPN and Yahoo player eligibility.....

Dobber Sports Stud

Default ESPN and Yahoo player eligibility.....

This is my first year using ESPN. I have a concern because they seem so vague regarding eligibility of position.
    How is a player's position eligibility determined?
    POSITION ELIGIBILITY
    Before each season begins ESPN will determine the primary position of every NHL player available in the game. The criteria will primarily be the past year's playing time. This includes rookies as well as veterans. The listed primary positions are fixed and will not change for the duration of the season. NOTE: In custom leagues the League Manager CANNOT change the listed position of any player in the game.
    Rookies will be placed on the waiver wire / free agency either prior to the start of the season or after their first official game played.
    and then I read
    PRIMARY Position Eligibility:
    Before each season begins the system receives an updated report that details every player with their listed position heading into the new season. This includes rookies as well as veterans. The listed primary positions are fixed and will not change for the duration of the season. ADDITIONAL Position Eligibility:
    The League Office uses several subjective criteria to determine additional eligibility. Among those are:

• How manyn the player minutes the player plays in a particular position
    • Defensive assignments
    • Where the player is usually positioned in the offensive sets

The final decision is always left to the League Office. Any official designations made by the NHL or any other organization will be taken into consideration, but may not result in expanded eligibility for a player. Owners may write the League Office with suggestions if they feel a particular player deserves additional eligibility. Eligibility will never be taken away from a player.