Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Fantasy Football Draft Advice...for a Newbee

Dobber Sports Expert

Default Fantasy Football Draft Advice...for a Newbee

I've been a part of Dobber Hockey forums for several years and have found the advice there to be what consistently has me at or near the top of our annual hockey pool. I'm hoping to find similarly insightful [and helpful] GM's here. Listen, I'm brand new to fantasy football and will be joining a league for the first time this year. We're having our inaugural draft in a few weeks and I'm looking for any kind of helpful draft advice and strategy tips to help me learn to process the nuances of this fantasy sport.

I believe our league may have a small keeper component [think keep 3 players].
    It's a H2H format with STD scoring [not a PPR league].
    I believe we have 1 QB, 2 RB, 2 WR, 1 RB/WR [flex], 1 TE, 1 K, 1 team D, 6 bench.
    Our draft order has yet to be determined so I can't give that information yet [although we will have 12 teams].

I'm new to H2H format and haven't ever worked with BYE weeks [not something to consider in hockey pools]. What do I need to know?

I'm told the waiver wire is super-important!?

I'm also really trying to figure out the best strategy for bench players...any advice?

Cheers...Andrew
    10 Team [keep 10 + 4 prospects]
    Scoring F=1[g/a]; D=2[g], 1[a]; G=2[w], -1[L], 1[OT], 2[SO] Top 12 F, 6 D, 2 G count

Forwards
    Crosby, Ovechkin, Backstrom, Wheeler, Byfuglien, Hornqvist, Simmonds, Ladd, Zuccarello, Ribeiro, Desharnais, Semin, MacArthur, Moulson, Purcell, Soderberg, Dupuis
    Defense
    Keith, Goligoski, Carlson, Krug, Trouba, Streit, Pouliot, Ceci, Nurse, Martinez
    Goalie
    Fleury/Price/Rask

Dobber Sports Padawan

Default Re: Fantasy Football Draft Advice...for a Newbee