Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Hot start; Bench goalies?

Dobber Sports Rookie

Question Hot start; Bench goalies?

Hi y'all.

Im new to my keeper league, and well, I don't have the best goalies....in fact, they suck and I'm guaranteed to finish at the bottom in all 4 goalie categories.
    I've tried making a trade, but it seems no one is willing to trade or asking way to much. Plus, a lot of them are back in the draft pool next year (since most of them were keepers).

Now here's my situation:
    Out of 3 games I manage to get a 0.65 GAA and 0.981 SV%. I'm thinking I could bench my goalies for the remainder of the season, and finish top of the list in those 2 categories, and bottom 2 in Wins and shutouts. Which would still be better then if I play them try to compete.

So if this were to happen in your pool, would you consider a brilliant move? a dick move? Frowned upon?

Thanks.
    10 Team auction draft keeper league. NHL + AHL team(bench).
    Rotisserie scoring format w/ 12 categories
    G, A, PPP, SHP, +/-, PIM, BLKS, FW - W, GAA, SV%, SO

C:, J.Staal,
    LW: Hall, C. Stewart,
    RW: Malkin
    D: Del Zotto, Letang,
    G: Lehtonen,

Dobber Sports Padawan

I'd consider that a dick move.

If no one's trading now, you may want to hold your goalies back a bit a wait for the other GMs to burn some goalie games, which may want to make them more inclined to trade with you. But, I wouldn't purposely bench your goalies.
    One year. 14 team. Roto. No positional requirements.

Scoring Categories: G, A, SOG, FOW, +/-, PIM, Hits, SPct, GAA, W

F: Nash, Backes, Getzlaf, M. Koivu, Vanek, Jagr, Clowe, Horton, Stewart, Ott, Z. Kassian
    D: Suter, Seabrook, Diaz, L. Schenn, Robidas
    G: Lundqvist, Varlamov, Theodore

IR: Burns

Dobber Sports Novice

sounds smart to me unless your league as goalie minimums

Dobber Sports Juggernaut

That's abusing the system to me.
    GO WINGS!

The Wolverine

Although it's allowed, it's not recommended.