Thread: Draft advice for a beginner

Dobber Sports Blue-Chipper

Default Draft advice for a beginner

I am new to fantasy hockey and have taken over a (previously poorly managed) team in an established keeper league. Hoping to get your advice for general drafting strategy.

This is a 10-team keeper league with 22 roster spots including 10 keepers. The league is fantasy points (G, A, +/-, PIM, SHG, SHA, GWG, SOG, HIT, BLK) with the following positions: 3C, 3LW, 3RW, 5D, 2G, 6 Bench. Keeper selection already took place and I may have already made an error. I used HockeyPoolGeek and essentially kept the 10 highest value players I had:

Henrik Sedin C
    Pavel Datsyuk C
    Ilya Kovalchuk LW
    Jarome Iginla RW
    Dustin Brown RW
    Mark Streit D
    James Wisniewski D
    John Carlson D
    Carey Price G
    Jonathan Quick G

As you can see I ended up with 3 D and as I should have probably predicted the other teams kept almost no D-men. As a result there is a glut of top tier D-men available for the draft and slim pickings for top forwards. Based on my HPG rankings the top picks available look something like:

Duncan Keith CHI D
    Jaroslav Halak STL G
    Dion Phaneuf TOR D
    Ryan Whitney EDM D
    Brent Seabrook CHI D
    Jamie Benn DAL LW
    Alex Goligoski DAL D
    Daniel Briere PHI RW
    Mark Giordano CGY D
    Brent Burns SJS D
    Tyler Myers BUF D
    Erik Karlsson OTT D
    Tobias Enstrom WPG D
    Jonas Hiller ANA G
    Brian Campbell FLA D
    Erik Johnson COL D
    Alex Pietrangelo STL D
    Nikolai Kulemin TOR LW