Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Trade abuse?? What to do?

Dobber Sports Sophomore

Default Trade abuse?? What to do?

I've been in the same one-year league with a bunch of buddies for the past 2/3 years, so we thought it would be fun to try a basic keeper this year. The rules are pretty simple, owners can keep 2 players, but will lose that corresponding draft pick in the upcoming draft (e.g., I drafted Crosby in round 1 and if I elect to keep him, I lose my first round pick in the draft).

I also allowed draft pick trades. Unfortunately, a couple trades went down today that I think abuse the rules. I'm not sure whether to allow them, put it to a league vote, or just outright veto. I'm interested in hearing what the Dobber community thinks since I'm new to keeper leagues.

Trade 1:

2nd Place Team Out of Playoffs
    Nick Foligno
    Dion Phaneuf
    Devan Dubnyk

2015 Draft Picks
    Round 9
    Round 12
    q Sean Monahan
    Kevin Klein
    Jhonas Enroth

2015 Draft Picks
    Round 2
    Round 4

Trade 2:
    The owner made this deal in direct response to the above trade, first crying about it and then deciding "if you can't beat them, join them"

Out of Playoffs 3rd Place Team
    Brock Nelson
    Marco Scandella
    Jeff Skinner

2015 Draft Picks
    Round 2
    Round 6
    Patrick Kane
    Scott Hartnell
    Keith Yandle

2015 Draft Picks
    Round 13
    Round 14

Normally, I'm against vetoing deals in the absence of clear collusion, but I'm tempted to put the ax to all trades involving draft picks. In fact, I'd like to suspend the above 4 teams from making any trades for the rest of the year. (If I want to channel my inner Gary Bettman, I should penalize them draft picks, too lol). I'd appreciate any thoughts/advice.
    Team 1: 14-team, H2H, Weekly, Keeper (3) (G, A, +/-, SOG, PPP, HIT, BLK, W, GAA, SV%)
    C: McDavid, Kuznestov, Galchneyuk, Dubinsky
    LW: Panarin, Nash
    RW: Hossa, Ryan, Pastrnak
    D: Carlson, Shattenkirk, Pietrangelo, EJohnson