Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Year Long Hockey League idea

Dobber Sports Ninja

Default Year Long Hockey League idea

After watching some really good World Jr hockey and being involved in a fun pool that was points only, free and yet remarkably awesome, I was reminded of why I started playing in hockey pools from the start. Not to be a mathmetician, not to manage a salary cap and feel like a real GM, and not to find a detailed system for beating out the other GMs using a combination of sneaky add/drop tactics, streaming, an Excel sheet that balances 19 different stat categories and spits out a ranking, and a permutation based on air pressure.

In the past couple years I have been involved (and still am to a degree) in some of those types of leagues and they have sucked the fun out of the whole reason I like to be in hockey pools. I appreciate that for many folks they really love that aspect of things, but I find myself wanting to get back more and more to just points and hockey knowledge - a great combination!

Here is my idea for a hockey league and I would love to know if people would be interested in such a thing. The fundamentals of the league would be based on hockey knowledge, a great fun culture, and good competition.

The idea is to create a league that incorporates all sorts of hockey leagues/tournaments and find a winner at the end of the year based on how someone does in every event.

For example:

The World Jrs
    The Olympics
    The NHL Regular Season
    The NHL Playoffs
    The Memorial Cup
    etc

Each event would be run separately and would have it's own Champion, but they would also earn points towards a final league champion at the end of the year.

This would mean that most of the league would involve drafting for the various events, and keeping track of totals as the season went along.