Thread: I’m a rookie at this.

Dobber Sports Blue-Chipper

Default I’m a rookie at this.

Hi guys, this is my first attempt at anything over 12 teams and anything to do with dynasty and salary cap. We are 38 rounds into the inaugural draft and I drafted a team to go for it. The league seems amazing, well run and everyone seems engaged, but I chose to go for it just because who knows how long the league will actually be around. If we trade future picks, we have to pay for that year in advance. I like that.

Anyway, I’ve already got my 23 man roster set and my plan was to rotate 4 minors in and out daily…including my goalie spot where I didn’t draft a goalie that isn’t a minor (50 GP or under…82 for skaters). I think maximizing GP daily is a big advantage so after I had a good pro roster, I’m now drafting minors that could play.

I’m slightly over the cap which is same as NHL, but Stastny for me still shows as over 3 million. Once he signs for less, I will be right at the cap.

I don’t really know value of picks or players in this style of league, but other GM’s are being helpful.

I just received this offer and have no clue what to think of it yet. No trades have happened yet as they can’t be made until after our 50 rounds of drafting. Each year after this one, it is 7 rounds (just like NHL.)

In saying that, someone offered me Saros (drafted 1st round, 26th overall) for J.Staal, Holloway, Fedotov, my 2023 1st and my 2024 1st.

I don’t know what to think. Even though I’m an extremely active trader, I feel like I need to see some trades happen in this league first.

There is no tying is to contracts, no buyouts - we can drop with no penalty. When you acquire a player he comes with his full AAV even if it is halfway through the year.

People that have experience in these leagues, is that a good deal? If I left important details out, let me know.
    32 Team Dynasty~NHL cap using AAV
    2400+ players owned
    12F 6D 1G 4Bench, 57 Minors