Thread: NHL Trade Deadline Effect on Team

Dobber Sports Blue-Chipper

Default NHL Trade Deadline Effect on Team

This is my first time through a fantasy hockey season. I've been excited for and dreading the NHL trade deadline.

Fun to look at guys to potentially stash away or guys on your roster who may be ticketed for greener pastures. Also, horrifying to think some of your closest rivals may have players in that same boat.

What's been your experience with the NHL trade deadline and how it has affected your team in past seasons?

Anything you've learned from it over the year(s)?
    10 Team H2H Points-Only
    G=3, A=2, PPP=1, SHG=2
    Goalie W=5 GA= -1 SO=3

22 Man Roster: 9F, 5D, 1U, 2G w/Max of 4 G's (Can drop G for F or D) 5 Bench Spots (Up to 7 if you don't carry a goalie)
    F: McDavid, Barkov, Marner, Pettersson, Stone, Olofsson, Pearson, Meier, DeBrincat, Ehlers, Fiala, Rust, Kubalik, Cirelli, Yamamoto, Tarasenko, (Ghost of Bjorkstrand...too sad to fill his spot right now)
    D: Hedman, Barrie, Klingberg, Pionk, Niskanen
    G: Zero-Goalie Strategy
    ***Prayers for Oskar Linblom***

Dobber Sports Genius

Default Re: NHL Trade Deadline Effect on Team

Painting with a wide brush here... It seems to me that the guys who get traded at the deadline usually do worse than they had been doing with their previous team/situation.
    - I said... "God damn this tablet is heavy!"

Dobber Sports Titan

Generally I don't find the deadline has had much effect at all on my seasons. It seems like it should, but it doesn't end up making much of a difference.
    Associate Editor for DobberHockey (Wednesdays). Click that Ramblings button on the the menu bar!
    (No I don't have a hockey problem...)

Dobber Sports Genius

Maybe the taste of Wayne Simmonds and Mikael Granlund still lingers on my palate.
    - I said... "God damn this tablet is heavy!"

Dobber Sports Titan

Quote Originally Posted by Moses View Post