Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Flu

Dobber Sports Stud

Default Flu

Getzlaf today, out with the flu. Malkin and Rust last week. Others, I’m sure... I DO understand that my profession is different than professional athletes, BUT !!

I’m required by my employer to have a flu shot. They would pay my salary during illness, yes - but they not only OFFER to prevent this common winter ailment, they REQUIRE it of all staff I work with (religious exceptions aside...). Seriously, the freaking FLU can cost points in the standings, when it’s contagious and 90% preventable?? NHLPA would object to flu shots??? I doubt it. Seems just stupid.
    CONDORS, 2022-23 league champions, Reg Dunlop Mem Cup

12-team, H2H. Keep 12, but drop 2 of top four skaters, and also 2 of next six, then five more (from end-of-year rankings). One GK max.

Stutzle, Sergachev
    Keller, Doughty, Verhaeghe, ErikssonEk
    E.Lindholm, Barzal, J.Gaudreau, Huberdeau, S. Wright
    Gustavsson

Administrator

Default Re: Flu

Where did you get your info about flu shots in the NHL?

Contact me for Frozen Tools bug reports and inquiries
    Follow Frozen Tools on Twitter @FrozenTools
    Follow me on Twitter @DH_EricDaoust

Dobber Sports Apprentice

Yeah the flu shot isn't 100% effective even when they get it right. The fact that entire teams don't go down with it at the same time is probably as good an indicator that they do utilize it. Unless you've read something specific?
    Ice Cap

Dynasty, 32 team cap league (1:1 NHL Cap/Floor), H2H weekly, points (G: 1 / A: 1 / Blks: 0.1 / HTS: 0.1 / SOG: 0.1 / W: 1 / SO: 1 / SV: 0.05)
    Start 12 F, 6 D, 1 G, 4 Bench, 27 Minors/Prospects

Roster

Dobber Sports Stud

No, it’s not 100%. But as a doc, I’ve played a part in keeping wrestling teams at HS and at NCAA levels from forfeiting events, and the stakes are high enough that the team docs (usually orthopedic surgeons?) should take every precaution they can.