Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Spreadsheet Geeks Concatenate!

Dobber Sports Blue-Chipper

Lightbulb Spreadsheet Geeks Concatenate!

Sorry, bad spreadsheet humour.

I wasn't sure if there was/are other threads dedicated to the use of spreadsheets in fantasy hockey, so if there isn't - here it is!

I've been playing fantasy hockey for 20+ years, and making spreadsheets for about that long. I wouldn't say the spreadsheets have gotten much more complicated - but Google spreadsheets, and sites like Fantrax have taken them to another level for me.

If you have no experience with spreadsheets, this may be a great starting point for you. Hopefully we can convince some of the other members to step forward and put some posts together with their own creations.

Spreadsheets I've created:
    Spreadsheets for Entry Drafts in Dynasty Leagues, averaging draft lists from multiple sources
    Spreadsheets for drafting every league (using Fantasy Hockey Geek lists, with Dobber's projections).
    Spreadsheets for drafting in points leagues adjusting lists using position scarcity.
    A spreadsheet for monitoring the waiver wire daily/weekly, looking for players with the best average ice-time and/or best average power-play ice-time (using auto-imported data from hockey-reference).
    A spreadsheet for tracking prospects outside of the NHL, using NHL equivalency data to find value outside of the 3rd/4th round of the NHL draft (using auto-imported data from Elite Prospects and Cap Friendly).
    A spreadsheet to determine the strength of my team compared to the rest of my league (using Fantrax/Yahoo).

Site List of free hockey information:
    Dobber Frozen Tools (Reports can be downloaded as CSV)
    Hockey Reference: Skater Stats, Goalie Stats, Team Stats
    Cap Friendly: Salary Data, Draft History, ELC information
    Elite Prospects: non-NHL Player Data
    Fantrax: League specific data, easily downloaded for importing into your spreadsheets