Thread: Pedigree vs Donner's "Time is Everything" Mentality

Dobber Sports Novice

Default Pedigree vs Donner's "Time is Everything" Mentality

I just took over a dynasty team (my first ever dynasty! I'm very new to having to pay attention to prospects...) that is an utter dumpster fire. My goalies are Rask, Kinkaid, Nedeljkovic, and Sparks, but I noticed that there are some decent prospects on FA.

Namely:

Scott (Tor)
    Hogberg (Ott)
    All of Boyle, Dostal, Eriksson Ek (Ana)
    Korenar (SJ)
    Point (Dal)
    Gillies (Cal)

Since my team is a couple years away from being remotely competitive, who do you all think has the best shot at being impactful given their progression, pedigree, and team situation?

Dobber Sports Apprentice

Default Re: Pedigree vs Donner's "Time is Everything" Mentality

Welcome to dynasty leagues and the forum! One thing you’ll learn about this forum is the more information you give on your roster (how many starters, how big of minors, etc) and format (scoring categories, roto, h2h etc) the better and more accurate thoughts and advice you’ll receive.

To answer your question, I personally let other GMs sit on the goalie prospects (they usually take 4+ yrs and that’s an eternity in fantasy hockey) and usually look to trade for them or pick them up when their value is still a year or two out from any nhl chance. Guys like gillies and Hogberg would interest me more than a skinner or Dostal even through the latter might be higher rated. Really the amount of goalies you roster comes down to your roster number and the amount of minor spots.
    5.5X Champs
    20 Team Dynasty (Unique Cap) H2H 23 Man roster - 20 Minor
    G,A,SOG,PIM,HIT,BLK,FO%,2G+A,D-pts,STG,GWG+SHP+ShootoutG
    W,SV%,GAA,SO Start 4 C,LW,RW/6D/2G Min 3 start/ 3Bench/6IR

C-Hischier,W.Nylander,
    Benn
    LW-Guentzel,B.Tkachuk
    ,Marchand,Gaudreau
    RW-A.Svechnikov,M.Tkachuk,Duclair,Mantha
    D-Provorov,McAvoy,Gudas,Doughty,Dunn,McDonagh
    G-Hart,Vanecek
    B-