Thread: Which of these young studs going forward?

Dobber Sports Apprentice

Default Which of these young studs going forward?

I'm posting ahead of the RFA contract negotiations, so I know this is an hurdle to my question BUT

In a cap league (league #1 in sig. using real NHL cap hit) I must choose my last keeper between an internal option or one acquired by trade. I don't expect to contend next year because I traded away all my picks for next year up until the last three rounds of the draft, so I can afford to make a bid now for the player with the best upside and contract situation in two years.

My own internal options (my projections in parentheses):
    Meier (6-6.5M x 6 yrs)
    Werenski (7M x 6 yrs)
    Stone - I know, not a young one but he's productive (9,5M)

Trade options
    Laine (7M x 5 years), probable cost of 2nd / 3rd round in 2020
    A. Svechnikov, probably won't cost much but I question his upside in 2 years.
    Keller (RFA coming up in 2 years, I project 7M x 6 years)

My favorite option is Meier but Stone probably holds the most trade value (I would trade him in season next year). I won't be able to redraft any of those unfortunately.
    Rep where I can, thanks for the input!
    10-team Pts only, 19-man roster, 9F, 4D, 2G, 4bench 95M cap league
    F: T.Tompson Pasta Kaprizov Rantanen Gaudreau Necas Greig Zegras Vilardi
    D: Josi Bouchard Sandin Sanheim
    G Shesterkin Samsonov
    B: Woll Perfetti Poitras
    Farm: Guenther, Will Smith

Dobber Sports Jedi

Default Re: Which of these young studs going forward?

Stone at 9.5 doesn't hold a tonne of value, especially in a shallow league such as yours. I'd much rather take Meier at EST 3m less.

As for trade options. Keller's a RFA now.
    Svech on an ELC for 2yrs IF you could get him cheap would be a smart acquisition.
    Would Laine provide a significant upgrade over Meier currently for an extra mil?
    Follow me on twitter: @doylelb4

Dobber Sports Titan