Thread: Another new draft complete thread

Dobber Sports Prodigy

Default Another new draft complete thread

Hey guys,

Second team in my sig. We just had our draft which was a little unusual in that we simply drafted an NHL team and got all players who had played less than 20 games from it.

More information :
    1. There will be a 1 round free agent draft as well as a 5 round prospect draft held in 2 weeks. This is the only was to get new players! Free agents are all players with 20 games or more played who are in a team that was not drafted... Also of note, draft order will be reverse of team draft (I picked 9th for the team, so I'll pick 6th in both the free agent and prospect drafts).
    2. There are no free agent pickups at all. Only trades and drafts will permit to add players.
    3. We got a 75M cap this year and will be NHL cap+7.5M in future years.

I have a ton of questions since I'm new to cap leagues, but I'll start with a handful :
    1) Would there be any guys from the list in my sig that you would consider straight out dropping (or maybe try trading away)? Keep in mind that I need at least 12F, 6D and 2G and that I'll only draft one Free Agent. If I had a little more depth, I'd definitely consider dropping Bouwmeester, but he should count in my top Ds (how sad). Ott is another player I'm considering dropping..
    2) Am I crazy to only consider a G in the free agent draft? One major downside of having Allen and Elliot is that they will likely get a similar amount of points, but since it's a count 2 best goalies type of pool, if I get another goalie, one of Elliot or Allen will not count this year.

I have included the teams that were drafted should you need this info:
    TEAMS DRAFTED:
    1. PIT
    2. TB
    3. MON
    4. ANA
    5. DAL
    6. COL
    7. CBJ
    8. LAK
    9. STL
    10. MIN
    11. WSH
    12. CGY
    13. SJS
    14. NYI

Thanks for the time you'll put into this.