Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: The Old Man Myth in Fantasy Hockey Keeper Leagues

Dobber Sports Deity

Default The Old Man Myth in Fantasy Hockey Keeper Leagues

The Old Myth in Fantasy Keeper Leagues

I have been playing in fantasy hockey keeper leagues for many years. Like many of you who are reading this, you could say I am addicted to the game. If there has been one thing that has bothered me about fantasy hockey keeper leagues, more so the past few years, it’s the train of thought by most fantasy GM’s that once a player hits the golden age of 30 years old, that his fantasy value has to diminish. To me, this is nothing but a myth and in this column, I will explain why.

I will admit it, when I first started out doing keeper leagues, I had that mentality. It didn’t matter if my team was competitive or a work in progress, if a guy on my roster was 30 or older, he had to go. In hindsight, I can see that I was wrong in thinking that way.

Just going back over the past three NHL seasons, I looked into how many 30+ year old players were in the top 20 scorers for the league. In this past season, there were six skaters over the age of 30 in the top 20 scorers. In 2013/14, there were four skaters over the age of 30 in the top 20 scoring. In 2012/13, the shortened season which only 48 games were played, there were six skaters in the top 20 scoring, and the scoring title was won by Martin St. Louis who was a spry 37 years old at that time. Now of course, depending on your fantasy league setup, points are simply can be a small portion of what you need to make your roster competitive. In my experience, points are what most tend to focus on as their primary target as far as a category though.

My point is that even though a skater is above the age of 30, that doesn’t mean their production goes away. Obviously, at some point in their careers, their value will diminish, that’s to be expected but so many look at that golden age of 30 and simply focus on that.