Thread: My Over/Under picks (NHL props)

I...am your father.

Default My Over/Under picks (NHL props)

Bodog has their player props up and I'll share with you my picks. There is another thread on this for other members' picks here.

First of all, I understand this is a big responsibility, given that this is my site and I project player points for a living. As such, many readers will take what I say and consider it a sure thing.

Please don't.

There are risks, and when gambling only use your play money. I'm like a Mutual Funds expert with this stuff, except I'm not using actual money that my family relies on, and it's hockey instead of investments. So that means there are risks, but generally speaking I'm confident I will do okay.

The money I use - About 8 years ago I was given about $120 from a company to stick an ad up. But this money was put in "Moneybookers", a service I've never used and never plan to. Several years ago, Puck Daddy noted that Malkin was 30-1 to win the Art Ross Trophy. I thought it was ridiculous and went over there to put 20 bucks on it. Why not, right? When I got there, I saw that they took Moneybookers and I remembered that I might have a balance with that service. Sure enough, I did. So I bet the entire $120 on Malkin. Well, he won the Art Ross. I took $2000 out of those winnings (so I will always be up by $2000 no matter what!). The other $1000 I left there. That's my play money. Last year doing this over/under, I turned $1000 into $1580.

So I'll let that ride!

Now let's get to it.

I don't feel comfortable talking about big money on future wagers, so I'll call the wagers $5, $10, $15 based on levels of risk. Here is what I did. I took the over/under posted and looked at the biggest differential vs my projections. I also heavily favor the 'under'. Last year I picked 'over' 12 times, and was right only 5 of them.

Two wagers were not based on this strategy at all: