Thread: Any Backyard Rink making pros?

Dobber Sports Blue-Chipper

Default Any Backyard Rink making pros?

Any pros out there at making rinks. we have a pretty good system going. We have the liner and a huge rink. This year we have gone a little thinner on the ice so there is room for precipitation. I am a little worried it is too thin. So how thick should I make the ice? \
    If you have any other tips for great ice that is always good as well. really the only other problem I come across is restoring the rink after freezing rain.

I...am your father.

Default Re: Any Backyard Rink making pros?

Nope, I'm an amateur. So Quik Rink for me (works like a charm), perfect for my kids aged 2 and 4
    The Best Fantasy Hockey Site

15-Team Keeper, points only, best 12 fwd, 4 dman, 2 G count. Playoffs count.

F - T. Thompson, Thomas, Nylander, Tarasenko, Arvidsson, Guentzel, Fiala, Quinn, Mittelstadt, Hagel, Zacha, Roslovic, Berggren, Brink, Ostlund
    G - Kahkonen, Vejmelka, L. Thompson, Levi, Comrie
    D - Hronek, Morrissey, Lundkvist, Girard, Brannstrom, Rathbone, Hanifin, Severson, Durzi

Dobber Sports Demi-God

I used to live on a small lake in Southern Ontario as a kid/teenager.
    The key to good ice is multiple very thin coats of water to bond/freeze it.
    Think Zamboni effect here.

I consistently wanted to make a perfectly smooth rink by mass flooding it, but it was too thick.
    The top layer of water would freeze and lock in insulated water below it (similar to how fish survive in the winter, because only the top part of the lake water is actually frozen).

Having several VERY large tarps can also be helpful.
    To avoid freezing rain and snow drifts mixing with range, you need to create a tent effect covering your rink.
    Essentially, you need to create a ridge down the center of your rink - which can be done many ways (stacking wood, using trash cans, just build up the center so rain slopes off).