Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Ontario's Minimum Wage set to Increase to $15/hr

Dobber Sports Titan

Default Ontario's Minimum Wage set to Increase to $15/hr

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toront...tion-1.4412363

I think it's idiotic to increase minimum from 11.40 to 15, that's insane, it's like a 30% increase. Why would ppl work their economy benefiting job, or go to school, when you can work a job and instantly get $15/hr? When I worked at McDs as a manager I was only getting $1 more than an 18yr old coming off the streak, so I even thought then why am I stressing myself out for that $1 more.

The fact that Metro Grocery has already come out saying it could cost like $40mill more for 2018 just based off this, and they'll cut jobs to make up for it is just showing to me how raising minimum wage does nothing.

You raise Min, prices will raise, or workers will decrease to offset the wage. So anyone not in a min-wage paying job suffers. Which is like 93% of Ontario, and that 7% of Ontario that is has to be mostly 16-21 yrs old. UGH WYNNE
    12 Team, H2H, Keep 6 (in Bold)
    G, A, Pts, PPP, FW, SOG, Hits, Blocks
    W, Saves, S%, GAA, Game Started
    2C, 2LW, 2RW, 4D, 1Util, 2G, 5BN, 2IR, 1IR+, 1NA

C: Horvat, Trocheck
    LW: J. Robertson, Byfield (C), Guenther
    RW: Pavelski (C), Giroux (C), Svechnikov (LW)
    D: Fox, Makar, Bouchard, Morrissey, Gudas
    Util: Meier (LW, RW)
    G: Oettinger, Georgiev, Samsonov, Woll

Dobber Sports Veteran

Default Re: Ontario's Minimum Wage set to Increase to $15/hr

I'm no economics or business major, but don't you think putting more money in the hands of people might mean they buy more things.....which means places will be busier....meaning they will need to be staffed more.....which means more / the same amount of jobs....not less
    Evansville Icemen District-5 Ducks
    LOEGM - 12 GM H2H Keeper
    G A PT SOG STA STG TRUC FOW
    W GA SV SV% SO
    WHL - 24 GM H2H Salary
    G A +/- PIM SOG PPP HIT BLK FOW