Thread: Newbie Manager to Keeper League. Need Help Drafting.

Dobber Sports Recruit

Default Newbie Manager to Keeper League. Need Help Drafting.

Hello All. Not a trade question, but a drafting question.

I'm brand new to a keeper league. I'm so pumped I finally got into one!! And brand new to this forum. I'm a huge hockey fan but not a huge stats guy, and I've only ever played box style pools with no trades and no matchups (just pick in October and wait until April). So I'm going to see if I can play fantasy sports without emotion and allegiance! GO JETS GO!

I am taking over a team from a manager that has left the group and I am getting the 1st overall pick in this year's draft. I currently have Erik Karlsson, but if I choose to keep him I lose my 1st rounder (1st overall). And Crosby and Price are available for pick this year. So aside from any good tips, what should I do with my 1st overall pick? Keep Karlsson, draft Crosby or draft Price? I also have Malkin I can mark as a keeper but that won't cause me to lose my first overall. So if I draft Crosby, would having Malkin & Crosby be a stupid move or a smart move?

I looked up past player points from my pool last year and 178 was the most fantasy points a player had (Tavares surprisingly), and Crosby was ranked pretty high among skaters with 162 fantasy points. As for goalies, Price crushed it last year for fantasy points with 261, Holtby had 238 and Rinne was the only other goalie to crack the 200 mark.

This pool is a weekly head-to-head matchup pool. 10 teams total.

Scoring Points in my league is as follows:
    SKATERS
    Goal = 1.25
    Assist = 1
    PIM = .25/min
    PPG = 2.5
    PP assist = 2
    SHG = 3.5
    SH assist = 3
    GWG = .5
    shots on goal = .10/shot
    GOALIES
    W = 2
    GA = -0.75/goal
    Saves = .10/save
    Shutout = 2

Keep Karlsson? Draft Crosby? Draft Price?

And any other good advice for a newbie is much appreciated. Thanks!

Dobber Sports Ninja