Thread: The sum of all parts (Trade evaluations)

Dobber Sports Veteran

Default The sum of all parts (Trade evaluations)

Recently overtook a rebuilding team for the first time (Team 2 in signature) as a new challenge. The team was a mess, in 2nd last place with essentially no picks in the next 2 years (I may have had a 4th/5th in both years, but that was about it). The trade deadline has passed, so now I'm bored since I have nothing to look forward to until the draft. Humor a fellow regular and give me your thoughts on my month's work. Instead of doing this on a trade by trade basis, I figure a "sum of all parts" approach is more fitting. Some deals I had to overpay to get done, but it was more about the final product.

Out: Dubnyk, O'Reilly, Klingberg, Galchenyuk, Coyle, Tkachuk, Silfverberg, Palat, Bozak, Perlini, Pulock, Bernier, Williams, 2018 4th rounder

In: Scheifele, Hall, Forsberg, Johansen, Bishop, Larkin, Pujuljarvi, Vrana, Johns, lotto picks (x2), 2nd rounder, 3rd rounder, 4th rounder (All 2017 picks).

Obviously a few very good pieces had to be shipped out, but you have to give to get.

I seen Dubnyk, Coyle, Silverberg all as sell highs and Bishop, Larkin and Pujuljarvi as buy lows.

Overall, I'm happy with my end result. I don't think I gave up anyone that I would consider to be a superstar/have superstar potential (Argument there for Kling and Galchenyuk, but I like the pieces I received back more than them). I do think that Scheifele/Hall/Forsberg all have superstar or star potential. Toss in the 2 high 1sts and I should get a couple of more substantial assets.