Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: My trade was vetoed, what to do next?

Dobber Sports Prodigy

Default My trade was vetoed, what to do next?

My trade was just vetoed and I'm kind of shocked. The guy I traded with writes columns for rotowire so he's not exaclty a noob, and he's a vet in the league. He's rebuilding for next year. It's my first year in the league but I'm the one accused of ripping him off.

It's an 8 teams yearly roto keeper league, (no playoffs, $$$). 7 keepers, you can keep a player two times tops, (3 year max on your team, it's important), and the trick is that to keep a player, you forfeit the pick of the round he was drafted in. If you want to keep Bobrovskyi who was drafted in the 14th round, you forfeit your 14th rounder for next year's draft.

I traded my Vasilesvksyi (20th round) and an 8th round pick for next year
    (keep in mind it's an 8 team league, players drafted this year in the 8th include Matthews, Toews, Krug...)
    for
    Boborvskyi (14th round) and Keith (9th round).

Let's say Keith and 8th round pick is pretty much a wash, although i wasn't willing to do it straight up.

Now Bob is a starter right now while Vasi isn't, but for the 2 other years of the cylce of the player on our team, he should be, (Bishop set to become FA along with Johnson, Palat and Drouin all RFA and the expansion draft) and will cost only a 20th to keep, while Bob will cost a 14th).

Players taken in the 14th this year: Bob, Stepan, Neuvirth, O'Reilly, Van Riemsdyk, Saad, Ehlers, Schwartz.
    Players taken in the 20th this year: Turris, Vasilevskyi, Daley, Miller, RNH, Werenski, Huberdeau, Trocheck.

In the end it's pretty much Bob and JVR for Vasi and RNH for 2 years and a half, (I took my trading partners pick in the 14th and in the 20th for argument's sake here).