Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Target Vasilevskiy Or Murray?

Dobber Sports Rookie

Default Target Vasilevskiy Or Murray?

Long time reader first time poster. Goes without saying how much the knowledge kicking around here helps out a fantasy manager. Great resource you fans provide.

I'm a new manager in an existing 10 team league that allows 10 keepers (no positional limit). I have a decent roster that can challenge for a top 3-5 spot IMO but I really want to lay a foundation of a core and fill in from year to year and if I win this year that's gravy. That brings me to my topic, target Vasilevskiy or Murray who were left unprotected by their owners. The league scores GS, Wins, GAA, SA, SV and SHO.

Since both are unprotected I'm gonna offer a draft pick for one of them just trying to figure out which one. I can't see either TB or PITT exposing either one to the expansion draft so I'm assuming, unless they are traded, they'll be the starters with their current club next year.

TB will be in cap hell next year so I can't see them signing Bishop as a UFA over keeping Vas. IMO Vas is the safest bet for that reason, the cap. I also think long term TB will be better than PITT with a much younger signed core.

Murray IMO will be the better long term player, I'm a big fan. No way PITT exposes him to the expansion draft but PITT is relatively safe cap wise, compared to TB, and can keep both goalies should they choose to make a deal with Vegas to not draft MAF. So there is a chance PITT goes into 2017/18 with both Murray and MAF until an opportunity comes along to move one or the other.

Did I miss something and if not am I right to think Vas is the safer of the two to target?

Dobber Sports Deity

Default Re: Target Vasilevskiy Or Murray?

Welcome to the forums!

I prefer Vasilevskiy myself personally.
    10 Team, Points Only, Cash League

25 Man Roster (no position), top 20 point getters count at end of month
    Keep 20/25 at seasons end, Cut 5 to FA for redrafting