Thread: New equipment effects

Dobber Sports Sophomore

Default New equipment effects

I have an open ended question about what the proposed goalie equipment changes will do to skew existing goalie value in the coming years. So I guess the question is, who are the goalies who rely on equipment cheats the most? Which goalies are going to be affected the least with contoured equipment?
    I'm no goalie expert, so any input from you borderline goalie scouts would be mucho appreciato.
    Thanks!
    H2H 12-team Full Keeper - G, A, +/-, PIM, Hits, PPP, SHP, GWG, Shootout Goals, W, GAA, SV%, SHO
    24 roster, 6 Farm (<25gp - adjusted only in the offseason)

Dobber Sports Expert

Default Re: New equipment effects

In general tall butterfly style goalies will have the biggest problems with smaller pads / gear. That means i expect Bishop, Dubnyk and Rinne to be affected.

Smaller hybrid and atheltic goalies should be able to compensate it a little bit better, so goalies like Price and Lundqvist should still be top goalies. That is mainly because they are very flexible. The don't stick to one still, they adapt there game.

Dobber Sports Deity

Quote Originally Posted by Dennis4022 View Post
    In general tall butterfly style goalies will have the biggest problems with smaller pads / gear. That means i expect Bishop, Dubnyk and Rinne to be affected.

Smaller hybrid and atheltic goalies should be able to compensate it a little bit better, so goalies like Price and Lundqvist should still be top goalies. That is mainly because they are very flexible. The don't stick to one still, they adapt there game.
    I disagree with some of this. I dont think the taller goalies will have as many problems as you think. The bigger they are, the more net they fill by covering the angles better. The bigger equipment helps, but when you are naturally big, you fill more of the net than the smaller goalies simply by your size.