Thread: General question about trading players in different positions.

Dobber Sports Veteran

Default General question about trading players in different positions.

I'm looking for some opinions and advice on how to handle these types of trades. Is the value of a 40 point D equivalent to a 60 point forward? Or a top-10 goalie for a 60 point forward?
    I'm still new to this and my pool is rather deep with 360 players (League set-up in sig.). I'm finding it really tough to find fair trades. Also, our league feels a bit lop-sided and I'm near the bottom. The top 3 guys had around 1250 pts and I was at around 900. I need to get my 40 point avg/player up to 60 points so when I see a deal like this it seems good, but I'm just not sure.

Is OEL for Skinner fair? If not, how do you go about balancing something like this out? How relevant is the rest of our roster?

All thoughts are welcome.

Dobber Sports Demi-God

Default Re: General question about trading players in different positions.

Relative value is typically based on one of two benchmarks:

1) The last "counting" player
    2) The waiver wire player

Questions:
    i) How many teams in your league?
    ii) How many players at each position?

What I usually do is count the "counting players", so a 12-team 9F/6D format "counts" 108F and 72D. (You can also consider including "bench" players in your count, if it is a "daily set" league and your bench players get used.)
    Then I look at past full years of NHL stats and find out the point-total of forward #108F and defenseman #72D.

Last year, for example:
    F #108 scored 43pts. Thus, if you value Skinner at 60pts, he's a relative +17pt player.
    D #72 scored 23pts. Thus, if you value OEL at 45pts, he's a relative +22pt player.
    From there, I'll compare trade value players to these amounts.

In this case, OEL > Skinner... which most of us would probably suggest, without even doing the calculation.