Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Climate Change Denying

Dobber Sports Pro

Default Climate Change Denying

I have to give kudos to the Dobber faithful, because most of the people in here have a firm grasp of logic. I've even been schooled myself in my faulty logic sometimes.
    My most recent beef is with climate change deniers.
    I am far from an expert on the topic.
    My beef is with skeptics who cherry pick evidence to support their skepticism, while ignoring the overwhelming evidence out there that:
    a) Climate change is not only a real concern, and has been for decades, but also...
    b) It's changing rapidly because of human activity

The most recent evidence of deniers slowly winning this debate came from a billboard I saw in Calgary that stated "The sun is the main driver of climate change. Not you. Not CO2."

I am curious to see how many Dobber faithful view that sort of billboard as incredibly irresponsible.

As I learn more about this, it seems obvious to me that multi-billion dollar energy companies have an obvious interest in promoting the "myth" of human-caused climate change.
    Is that perception of mine inaccurate?
    I fail to see the economic motivation for proponents of climate change. Is there money to be made from taking this perspective? Sure, of course. But I think it pales in comparison to the money that will be lost by oil companies should environmental concerns ever be taken really seriously.

Open minded to all responses... like I said, I am far from an expert in this area. Thanks all.

Dobber Sports Wizard

Default Re: Climate Change Denying

It's easier to be in denial.................
    Greatest Five to Ever Play:

1)Gretzky
    2)Lemieux
    3)Orr
    4)Howe
    5)Messier

16 Team Keeper League Points Only H2H Avg Weekly Scoring

F: Nash, Gaborik, Krejci, Datsyuk, E.Staal, Parenteau, B.Richards, Jagr
    D: Chara, Gonchar, Campbell, Seabrook
    G: Anderson, Holtby
    Bench: Havlat, Kipper