Thread: The points system in my league has me baffled. Advice on moving forward would be welcome

Dobber Sports Prodigy

Default The points system in my league has me baffled. Advice on moving forward would be welcome

Hi guys,

I have joined a few leagues this year, to try and get better at fantasy hockey and go more in-depth than my typical Yahoo one-year league that I have been doing for a few years. As well as a Fantrax one, I joined two in Fleaflicker. One of which is in my sig below, with the scoring system. It was only set up two months ago, with the idea of weeding out inactive owners now and having a good group going for next season.

I have come to the conclusion that I have no love for Fleaflicker as a website and system, and will drop out of the second league at the end of the season. I did so well/got lucky in the autodraft for this main one though, that I would like to stick with it, despite the website.

As the weeks have gone on though, I have become increasingly baffled by the scoring system employed. Starting three G means I am great in that position, strongest in the league. But elsewhere I am losing all over the place. The scoring is basically the overall points each player gets for you each week (so adding the scoring bits, taking away the - in the +/- etc). And the results have shocked me a bit in comparison to my other leagues.

Some examples below. Player and points so far this season:

Kopitar 91
    RNH 35
    M Koivu 32

Sharp 88
    Nick Foligno 56
    Lupul 32

Suter 51
    Yandle 30
    Pietrangelo 76
    Doughty 60

Price 400
    Quick 263

So maybe this isn't news to anyone. But I'm looking at those and think "what?" Price with 150 more than Quick? Doughty double the points of Yandle? Kopitar almost three times RNH/Koivu? Clearly it's just the cats and the way the scoring works, but it's kinda going against most things I have learnt this season!