Thread: How does IR work?

Dobber Sports Newbie

Default How does IR work?

This is my first year in a fantasy hockey league. I was curious who determines when a player is considered to be on the IR, as opposed to being on DTD. I'm assuming its the team? If so, why don't they put an injured player on IR right away.

The reason I ask is since I have Malkin, he's been injured for 2 weeks but has remained on DTD the whole time. I've been screwed for a lot of points and lost both weeks now. I'm sure regretting picking this pansy player as my first round draft pick. If I had known I would have dropped him right away.

Thanks for any information you can give me.

Dobber Sports Stud

WHOAAAAA STOP RIGHT THERE.

First thing first, unless they are done for a season and it is a ONE year league... never EVER drop Malkin, Crosby, Stamkos, or Ovechkin.

Just don't be the newbie who makes that mistake, don't.

As for IR:
    If you are on Yahoo, then they will get IR eligibility the day after they are officially placed on IR by their real life NHL team. If you are on another more robust system, there may be fantasy league methods to place a player on IR manually.

Most commonly, teams will not place a player on IR if they think that a player has a chance to play. If a player is placed on IR he has to stay on IR for a minimum of 7 days from the day he was injured. There may be other factors that have to do with cap management/player contracts that I'm not too familiar with but have seen mentioned.
    10 Team Yahoo Roto
    Keep 3F, 1D, 1G (to max 2 years unless franchise keeper)
    3C,3LW,3RW,4D,2G,2BN,2IR Roto-play 85games/position
    Player: G, A, +/-, PIM, PPA, PPG, HIT, BS SOG, FW
    Goalie: W, GAA, SV, SV%, SHO

C: (F1) Tavares, Stastny, Carter
    LW: 1-Hall, Pacioretty, B.Schenn
    RW: Mackinnon, Nyquist, Hornqvist
    D: 1-Carlson, Josi, Faulk, Franson
    G: Andersen, Mason
    BN: Jones, Niemi