Thread: Advice for a Beginner?

Dobber Sports Novice

Default Advice for a Beginner?

Hello everybody,

I'm a bit of a beginner with the whole fantasy hockey idea and I was wondering if anybody could take a look at my team and tell me what they think. I don't want to make it seem as if I'm asking for you to make my whole team for me, so sorry about that, but if you have a tip or suggestion, I'd really appreciate it!

8-team head-to-head league where the categories are: G, A, PPG, GWG, and for goalies, W and SO.

I've generally been trying to avoid players who have high assists totals as every other team in my league is built primarily around assists. My goal is to get the other categories and beat them out where they lack strength.

My team:
    F: Toews, Datsyuk, Pavelski, Nash, Neal, Filppula, Callahan, Oshie, and Jagr.
    D: Weber, Timonen, Kronwall, Wideman
    IR: Burns
    G: Lundqvist, Quick, Crawford

I don't necessarily have any set bench players; we can change our lines every day so I simply bench whoever isn't playing that night.

Is there anybody that I should try to trade while they have value? If so, who should I try to pick up in return for them. Remember, my goal is to improve my G, PPG, and GWG. Assists have a category of their own, while Goals have three.

Some free agents that may have value: Kassian, Chris Stewart, Hodgson, Jeff Carter, Clarkson, Raymond, Ryder, Yakupov, Vrbata, Ladd?

If there are any ideas for trades, free agent pickups, or major changes, I'd really appreciate it! Thanks all!

Dobber Sports Demi-God

Hi! Welcome to the boards!

In this head-to-head league you have 6 categories, 4 for skaters, 2 for goalies.
    In most weeks, shutouts will be a tie. We won't talk about that.

That means there are really 5 categories. So you are going for a 3-2 win every week.
    In H2H, you have to think about winning the H2H playoffs.

This means you have to lock-down 3 categories that you can win consistently.