Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Computer help please

The Wolverine

Default Computer help please

Something strange has been happening since last night. At home we have mobile broadband with a monthly limit and we can track the download usage regularly. Usually visiting a basic site like checking email or this site would use very little - estimating 10-20 MB per hour. However, it's shot up significantly, where it could use that amount per minute! Even by shutting down my browser it kept going up until I disconnected the broadband.

I'm at the library now with my laptop which also tracks usage and I've been on for less than ten minutes and it's already used nearly 70MB, and I've only come onto this site to post this message.

Anyone know what could be causing this? It seems something maybe is working in the background of my computer? Don't know if I should be concerned going forward, even when we get onto unlimited wireless from tomorrow night.

I'm not tech savvy so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Dobber Sports Giant

I'm more a developer than a tech, but I have a feeling you might have some spywares on your computer. I had that once at home and used Ad-Aware and another software I don't recall now to remove these. There's free version of Ad-Awarw that can be downloaded.

The Wolverine

Quote Originally Posted by Chicleteur View Post
    I'm more a developer than a tech, but I have a feeling you might have some spywares on your computer. I had that once at home and used Ad-Aware and another software I don't recall now to remove these. There's free version of Ad-Awarw that can be downloaded.
    Thanks. Would that affect my current Norton protection? Wouldn't Norton identify these?

Dobber Sports Demi-God

I had the same suspicion as Chic - I use a free download called Malwarebytes that seemed to clean up the junk without interfering with other security that is supposed to do it.

The Wolverine

Quote Originally Posted by Shoeless View Post