Fantasy Sports Forums - Dobber Sports

Fantasy Sports Forums - Dobber Sports (http://forums.dobbersports.com/index.php)
-   The Lounge (http://forums.dobbersports.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   DobberForums Malware Warning? (http://forums.dobbersports.com/showthread.php?t=145083)

mister_mcgoo 02-04-2013 07:48 AM

DobberForums Malware Warning?
 
I never got this before but it came up this morning in Chrome. Definitely something you want to look into Dobber, I'm not sure if that's one of your advertising providers who is on the blacklist or what but everyone should update their virus and malware software to be safe.

http://i.imgur.com/TTG42he.png

Dobber 02-04-2013 08:10 AM

Yes...I've been on this. I can't find any problem so at this point I'll get Google to check again

Ross The Boss Palmer 02-04-2013 08:12 AM

I get redirected to porn sites sometimes. No it is not by accidentally clicking a site in my browser's history :D

Axeman33 02-04-2013 08:51 AM

I got the same warning this morning, but Dobber wasnt the only site that gave me that warning. I got it when I went to Capgeek this morning as well.

Weird.

Bomm Bastic 02-04-2013 09:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Axeman33 (Post 1078068)
I got the same warning this morning, but Dobber wasnt the only site that gave me that warning. I got it when I went to Capgeek this morning as well.

Weird.

Fantrax too...only when I refresh the page.

mister_mcgoo 02-04-2013 09:46 AM

did some more digging, this is happening with tons of sites and seems to always be related to cmi.netseer.com so if you are hosting ads by them I would advise terminating them immediately Dobber

Dobber 02-04-2013 09:58 AM

I go through two networks - Google ad words and USA Today. I don't know who is using netseer, but good suggestion

mister_mcgoo 02-04-2013 11:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dobber (Post 1078093)
I go through two networks - Google ad words and USA Today. I don't know who is using netseer, but good suggestion

Dobber, ad servers serve all their content from what they call CDNs (Content Delivery Networks), basically its a huge, cached server farm of commonly served content like images and scripts that is spread across servers worldwide so that it gets served quickly from the nearest source to you, the user. Its what backs the banner ads that you host on your site.

netseer appears to be a 'contextual display' marketing company (so for example, they might show ads for hockey sticks on your site because that's the kind of thing that would appeal to your users). So either they have been compromised directly (and thus blacklisted) or some content/ad that uses them has been compromised so anytime that ad content gets served up from the CDN it sets off all of Chrome's fire alarms and you get the warning. That's why its across many different sites and so sporadic.

Its all over the discussion forums today:

https://productforums.google.com/for...me/kWCMjlyJmek

so long story short, if you get the warning then just hit dobber's site again and it will serve a different ad and you'll be fine, it'll be sporadic until they fix it

Pengwin7 02-04-2013 11:21 AM

I actually thought that I may have downloaded a virus back in Sept 2010.
One of our local IT guys said that just hovering over the wrong banner ad can actually download a virus to your computer.

A post I wrote on it back then.

Dobber 02-04-2013 06:31 PM

info on the problem here:

http://www.zdnet.com/netseer-suffers...gs-7000010776/


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.